Alan Howard

Section 53, Lot 16
Mount Pleasant Cemetery, Toronto

Born in Toronto in 1914, Howard was four when he moved to Centre Island, where his father was the chemist at the city’s water filtration plant. He lived on Toronto Island for 41 years, until officials of Metropolitan Toronto had all the residents evicted. While an Island resident, Howard developed an immense affection for Lake Ontario and its fascinating history. When Canada Steamship Lines decided to get rid of its passenger steamer, Cayuga, Howard started a private company that operated the vessel for several years until financial problems eventually sank the project. In 1961, Howard helped establish, and then was hired as the curator of, the Toronto Historical Board’s new Marine Museum of Upper Canada, which was located in one of the old Stanley Barracks buildings in Exhibition Place. The museum has since been relocated to Harbourfront and renamed The Pier. Howard had just started his retirement when he passed away on January 15, 1986.

Mike Filey
Mount Pleasant Cemetery: An Illustrated Guide
Second Edition Revised and Expanded